1:200 gpm admiral graf spee

• Hallo fellow Card Modellers

Here are some pictures of my version of the GPM kit of the Admiral Graf Spee on which I have been working for the last 18 months - progress has been quite slow as you can see!

As with my previous model of the Bismarck, much needs to be done to improve the accuracy of the kit as related to photos of the original but unfortunately, some things can't be done - the stern for example should be round, not pointed; however, one thing that I think is really important which I did make some improvement on is that where the hull sides meet the deck there should be quite a noticeable curve and this I did by adding an extra thickness of card below the deck and carefully rounding the deck edge before adding the hull sides.

Also adding character to the model are the various structures supporting the platform around the funnel - these seem to have been quite large and complex and the simple triangular brackets in the kit just don't look right, so I've modified and added bits in this area.

I also noticed that part of the superstructure to either side and below the tower is missing from the kit and I've therefore added these parts in card printed to the correct colour on the computer.

I hope this is of interest - there don't seem to be many models of this handsome ship either on this site or available as kits, nor are the available plans very accurate.

Chris Palmer